Arranged Marriage / Love Marriage

A close friend came to my home recently to invite me to attend his wedding reception. I was shocked to discover that he has an arranged marriage. This man is a brilliant marketing executive who is quite skilled at flirting with girls. Surprisingly, his mom did find him a girl to marry. I thought, given the high rate of failed marriages around, how bravely parents still take on fixing marriages even though they know they’ll be responsible for all mishaps.

This is the image description

I did some searching on the internet, and you might be surprised at the results. About 50 to 60% of all worldwide love marriages end in divorce within two years. Only 5 per cent of arranged marriages lead to divorce. Because arranged marriages aren’t made from hormones, this is because they don’t have to be. They are planned by the parents according to the compatibility between the bride and groom. My 18 married friends had problems with their marital lives, so I began to analyze the situation. One even got divorced. All had searched for their life partners alone. I know five of my closest friends who arranged marriages. While I thought it was odd, all are happily married Indian matrimony.

Is it best to marry someone you don’t love but will eventually love?

Leave a comment